MEMORANDUM

Date: May 12, 2012

To: Interested Parties

From: David Owens / Joint Transportation Review Committee

Re: Letters of Intent Received - DOT Commission

The Joint Transportation Review Committee has received letters from the individuals below. The individuals indicate that they intend to apply and be screened for consideration of election to the SCDOT Commission from the following districts:

1st Congressional District

Mr. Howard Chapman -- Mount Pleasant

Mr. Carl O. Falk -- Pawleys Island

Mr. James M. Wooten -- Murrells Inlet

Mr. Kenneth R. Willingham -- Mount Pleasant

Mr. Brian Simpson -- Surfside Beach

Mr. James H. "Jim" Rozier -- Moncks Corner

Mr. Dana Beach -- Charleston

3rd Congressional District

Mr. Roy E. "Eddie" Adams -- Seneca

Mr. Charles "Jerry" Vickery -- Anderson

Ms. Melissa D. Ledford -- Townville

5th Congressional District

Mr. John W. Major -- Blacksburg

Mr. Winston J. Smith -- Lancaster

Mr. W.B. Cook -- Gaffney

Mr. Clarence L. Alsbrook -- Sumter

Mr. Lawrence Hammett -- Sumter

Applications have been sent to these individuals and should be returned in electronic format by noon on Friday, May 18, 2012. Hard copies of applications are due by noon on Monday, May 21, 2012. The JTRC will then begin the process of determining if each applicant for the Commission is qualified and meets the requirements provided by law to serve. Following a public hearing, the JTRC will submit the names of all qualified candidates to the resident members of the respective congressional district delegations for election to the Commission.